Concert Agenda 


CARMEN SOUZA + THEO PASCAL come together again after 6 acclaimed albums to release a new Cd called Epistola - "A special letter with sounds addressed to anyone open to receive them". 


Recorded between sessions in London, Lisbon and New York Epistola features Top UK Jazz drummer Shane Forbes (Empirical), New York musicians Matt King (Piano) & Craig Yaremko (Sax and Clarinet) and a special talented young drummer called Zoe Pascal. 


This new album includes 8 original songs from Souza+Pascal plus 2 signature covers of the songs: Moonlight Serenade (Glenn Miller) and Horace Silver´s Cape Verdean Blues also  Mira Me Miguel a traditional regional song from the North East of Portugal.


For the last 12 years Carmen Souza and Theo Pascal have developed their own solid and successful sound under the name ‘Carmen Souza’ led by Souza’s amazing vocal talent, and inquisitive and meaningful lyrics arranged over Pascal's singular compositions. 


A delicious recipe of African/Cape Verde roots wrapped around Jazz named by DOWNBEAT as a "Recipe for Artistic success" and critically acclaimed by both Jazz and World Music Press and Audiences all over the world.


Reviewing Souza's last CD/DVD (Live at Lagny Jazz festival), 'World Music Central' highlighted "the stunning talent of one of the greatest jazz vocalists of our time". For this new album Carmen wanted a co-billing with Theo Pascal who was the first to discover and believe in her talent and has always been behind her as mentor, composer and producer.


In terms of influences we can mention: Charles Mingus, Thelonious Monk, McCoy Tyner, Fela Kuti, Carlos Paredes, Hermeto Pascoal, Ornette Coleman, John Coltrane, etc...But what is important to SOUZA+PASCAL is for an artist to create their own voice and identity and you can only do that by first listening to yourself....They like to call their unique sound "Organic Jazz".


Epistola will be released at Jazzahead! official showcase programe in Bremen-DE, in 2015 and Carmen and Theo will have new musicians in the band ready to start touring the World and wowing old and new audiences!


Line up on the cd:

Carmen Souza - Acoustic Piano & Vocals, 

Theo Pascal - Double Bass, Electric Bass,

Shane Forbes - Drums,

Matt King - Organ,

Craig Yaremko - Sax(s) and Clarinet(s), 

Zoe Pascal - Drums (tk 1,8).


Produced by Theo Pascal & Carmen Souza

Executive production by Patricia Pascal

Arrangements & music by Theo Pascal

Lyrics by Carmen Souza

* Tracks 01, 08, 11 by other authors

Recorded, edited, mixed and mastered by T

heo Pascal in Lisbon & London at Jazzpilon studios.

*Matt King and Craig Yaremko recorded in New York